The Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally


September 10th, 2021

Bogie goes for Five on the Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally

Dumfries ace David Bogie will start at Car 1 for tomorrow’s Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally, as the former multiple Scottish Rally Champion aims to add his name to the Gallacher Trophy for a fifth time.

Bogie and Co-Driver John Rowan from Portglenone will contest the event in a Mini JCW WRC, the same car in which they took victory on the 45-mile event in 2019.

With a tally of nine wins on the event driving a Subaru Impreza, Event Sponsor, and current leader of the Scottish Rally Championship, Jock Armstrong, will contest the event in a hired Ford Fiesta R5. The Castle Douglas Driver, and Co-Driver Cameron Fair, have been adapting to the modern, left-hand-drive machine with every mile contested so far in 2021, and will be keen to put on a good show for the home fans.

A trio of rapid Drivers, Garry Pearson (Duns), Stephen Petch (Co. Durham) and Freddie Milne (Aberdeen) – son of 1987 Galloway Hills Rally winner, Donald – make up the Top 5.

Scottish Championship front-runners Michael Binnie (Coldstream) and Rory Young (Kirkgunzeon) have both contested the event many times, and along with Northern Irish drivers Niall McCullagh, Vivian Hamill and Jason Mitchell they make up the rest of the Top 10.

Such is the event’s strong connection to attracting drivers from across the Irish Sea, no less than 21 crews from Northern Ireland will tackle the 40-mile event, including 2005 winner Sean Devine and his son, Niall. The 1400cc class battle will feature a pair of Nissan Micras, in the hands of Stephen Whitford and Barry Meeke.

1981 event winner Stanley Orr from Co. Down, will start at Car 40, in honour of the anniversary of his win. The organising committee are delighted to mark the occasion by offering Stanley an Entry Fee of £75 for the event – the same as the fee paid in 1981.

In the two-wheel drive battle, 2011 event winner Mark McCulloch (Ford Escort Mk II) with Co-Driver Michael Hendry alongside, will take on the Toyota Starlet of Galloway Hills regular Shane McGirr from Fivemiletown, with both hoping to add their name to the Brian Allan Trophy for Top Rear Wheel Drive. A host a of modern front-wheel-drive cars in the hands of Eamonn Kelly, Peter Stewart and Ewan Tindall are also expected to feature highly in the two-wheel drive battle.

Founded in 1974, the 47th running of the event will mark the 21-year anniversary of sponsorship from Dumfries-based Construction and Renewables specialists, The Armstrong Group, who have enthusiastically supported the event since the year 2000.

Spectator Information is available on the event website, and Spectators are strongly requested to follow the instructions of Marshals and Officials on the day when choosing their viewing locations.

Live Results will be available on the day, via the event website.

Photo © Eddie Kelly Motorsport Photography.

You can catch up with all the latest news from the event on its social media feeds: